Customer reviews for Charmin® Charmin® Ultra Soft

Charmin® Charmin® Ultra Soft

It’s OK to be a bit of a softie. Especially when Charmin Ultra Soft toilet tissue is in the house. America’s softest bath tissue is so cushiony soft, you can use 4x less than the leading value brand. Using less feels good, doesn’t it? Go on, Enjoy the Go.
Overall Rating:
2.602 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(1325 reviews) 1325
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1,325 reviews
5 Stars
280
4 Stars
140
3 Stars
186
2 Stars
211
1 Star
508
558 out of 1,307(43%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Review 101 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I absolutely HATE the smaller size

Customer avatar
SteveP
Posted05.05.2014
I have been meaning to register this comment for a while. My family had been using Charmin Ultra Soft for a very long time. I wouldn't buy anything else. But since you made the stupid mistake to reduce the width I have not bought any Charmin brand. I don't really care what internal rationalization you made up to reduce the quality, because it doesn't mattter. What matters is that you reduced the quality, period. If I wanted cheap, narrow toilet paper I would have switched to a cheap store brand long ago. But I liked (note past tense) Charmin because is was (again, past tense) a quality brand. But sadly, not any longer.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from CharminBy BrianCM05.19.2014
We want to thank you for your loyalty to Charmin. Although you are right, the roll is slightly shorter, we also invested in the product to bring you a better bathroom experience. We’d love to chat with you more about this – would you mind reaching out to us at 1-800-777-1410 9AM-6PM Mon-Fri? Thanks so much!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 102 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed in Charmin'

Customer avatar
Fran
Posted05.04.2014
Charmin' isn't charmin' anymore since you decided to cut down the width of the rolls. Now you can get extra rolls by saving those 1/2 inch strips! Also, I believe the paper has gotten thinner. I'll switch to another brand.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from CharminBy BrianCM05.19.2014
We hate to know that you’re considering switching brands! We know that with the new upgrades, our rolls may have changed but we hope that you’ll find the quality of the TP has only improved! Thank you for taking the time to review us!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 103 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

the new 3 lb. coffee can

Customer avatar
Oops
Posted05.04.2014
I like your product except for the new roll size. At 1/4" less width per roll x 12 rolls = 3" wide per pkg. x how many thousands of ft. to infinity and beyond is a lot of profit for you and a lot of finger muscle retraining for the rest of the world. Are all other companies doing the same thing?
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from CharminBy BrianCM05.19.2014
Thanks for the honest feedback. We did make changes to the roll, but also invested in the quality of the product to provide you with a better bathroom experience. We hope that you’ll find that our TP has only improved and that you’ll continue to choose us!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 104 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad design

Customer avatar
Design
Posted05.04.2014
Boo!!! You changed the size and now the rolls don't fit my springloaded paper holders. I gave the rest of the package to my niece and she said it flops all over her 'standard' style paper holders and leaves a big gap on the holder stick. Bad design!!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from CharminBy BrianCM05.19.2014
We're sorry to hear you're having problems with the TP fitting your TP holder. While our rolls may fit a little differentely, we have improved the quality.Thanks for taking the time to review and we hope that you’ll continue to choose us and keep us on your TP holder!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 105 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We are not fools

Customer avatar
maisel
Posted05.03.2014
Our family loves your product -BUT- you are not fooling us by making the roll of paper an inch smaller. We are not blind to that fact. We have to use more and you save moore. I do recomend your product because of the texture but not because of its size.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 106 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good old days

Customer avatar
devlyn
Posted05.02.2014
Whatever happened that now the hole in the toilet roll is twice as big as it used to be and the sheets are getting more narrow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh for the good old days.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 107 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Outrage

Customer avatar
Joan
Posted05.01.2014
by making toilet paper 0.5" narrow you spoiled the product all together. If you need to make more money just charge more not cut on quality. It's useless now. I use 2x as much just to compensate for lost 0.5" I will be switching to another brand.
Whos idea was it anyway?
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 108 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

rolls are now toooo small to fit on paper holder..my only complaint

Customer avatar
featherlight
Posted04.30.2014
Thank you for my coupon but you didn't answer my question on are you going to make the rolls reg. size again? so they don't roll all over the holder when you try to pull it off... thank you
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 109 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Downgrade

Customer avatar
Clin
Posted04.28.2014
I've been buying this product for 20 years and have purchased my last roll. The new size barely covers your hands during use and is unsanitary. It also has lost it's soft texture. You are no better than the cheap store brands now so I will be searching for any brand other than Charmin.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 110 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Please don't change the Charmin!!!!

Customer avatar
lessisunacceptable
Posted04.27.2014
I've used Charmin for as long as I can remember, both at home and at my workplace... Sorely disappointed with the changes made to this once great product!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 111 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I'm done with short 4 inch rolls!

Customer avatar
nomorecharmin
Posted04.27.2014
Been using Charmin for half a century but I'm done due to the reduced width. I use only brands with the wider rolls (carry a roll core template with me) and haven't purchased Charmin for at least 6 months. Charmin will lose much more business unless they bring the wider roll back and apolagize.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 112 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

same price, narrower product--stay away

Customer avatar
abcd
Posted04.27.2014
I'm sure the CEO doesn't have to use this product. It's gotten narrower while the price remained the same. I am insulted. Will never buy again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 113 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Size change unwelcome

Customer avatar
Anonymous
Posted04.26.2014
I was surprised and disappointed by the size change from 10.1 x 11.5 to 10.1 x 9.9. My family has used Charmin for years and is now evaluating alternative products.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from CharminBy BrianCM05.19.2014
We’re so sorry we let you down! While the roll is slightly shorter, we also invested in the product to bring you a better bathroom experience. We’d love to chat with you more about this and continue to be your families choice for TP! Would you mind reaching out at 1-800-777-1410 9AM-6PM Mon-Fri? Thanks so much!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 114 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wouldn't buy again

Customer avatar
Bucky
Posted04.25.2014
Have bought it at Costco for years. Now, for same price, you've cut the roll width down at least an inch. We're not dumb. Also am a shareholder.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from CharminBy BrianCM05.19.2014
We hate to know that yo've recent become unhappy with our product. We hope you’ll find that with our changes, our quality of our TP has only improved. Would you mind reaching out to us at 1-800-777-1410 9AM-6PM Mon-Fri so we can help further assist you? Thanks!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 115 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rolls too small

Customer avatar
Genbug
Posted04.25.2014
I have used Charmin for as long as I remember buying toilet paper. I let slide some years back, the fact that the inner cardboard roll was made larger in diameter, making it wobble all over the holder, and the amount of paper less. I wondered at that time if you really thought we would not notice. Now that the width of the paper is a whole quarter of an inch narrower, it is time to voice a complaint. Since big business is all about money and not customer appreciation, I am sure it will not make a difference, but what you have done is just bad.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from CharminBy BrianCM05.19.2014
We appreciate your support over the years and are sorry to hear that you are happy with our current TP. While we did make slight changes to the roll, we feel our changes have only improved the quality of our TP. We’d love to chat with you more about this – would you mind reaching out to us at 1-800-777-1410 9AM-6PM Mon-Fri? Thanks so much!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 116 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AT least 1/2" narrower!!

Customer avatar
lori3458
Posted04.24.2014
I just got back from Target where I purchased my usual Charmin Ultra Soft (although I normally get it at Costco). I have been using Charmin for as long as I can remember.
I went to change the toilet paper roll and it's at least 1/2" narrower than the old roll. It doesn't fit on the holder and keeps sliding around. It also is a lot rougher than the old Charmin I'm used to. My main problem is it keeps sliding around the toilet paper holder because it only takes up about 60% of the width. I wouldn't mind paying more for a quality product (even $10-15 more) BUT this is NOT a quality product like it was in the old days.
Not worth the extra few dollars I spent and I would not recommend it! Just buy the Kirkland/Costco Ultra Soft (purple one). It's just as good and will save you a lot of money. When will P&G realize that the same number of sheets that are 1/2" narrower is not the same thing as the old Charmin, esp. considering they haven't lowered the price.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from CharminBy BrianCM05.19.2014
We want to thank you for your support for all these years. We're sorry to hear that you are happy with our current TP! While the roll is slightly shorter, we also invested in the product to bring you a better bathroom experience. We know cost is important and strive to provide you a great TP at a better value. We’d love to chat with you more about this – would you mind reaching out to us at 1-800-777-1410 9AM-6PM Mon-Fri? Thanks so much!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 117 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

How could you increase price and reduce product...shame!

Customer avatar
BobandFrank
Posted04.23.2014
To whom it may concern
Quality, what a shame, we as consumers, expect to pay more for the same item as time goes by. Everything goes up, but when the quality goes down and the price goes up, then that's another story. Cutting back on the width of your product is just like cutting back on the quality. There is no difference! I have only used charmin in my house forever. I never liked any other brands. I really thought Mr. Whipple was my friend! What a shame! Bye to an old friend, Frank
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from CharminBy BrianCM05.19.2014
We’re sorry that you aren’t happy with our TP! While the roll is slightly shorter, we also invested in the product to bring you a better bathroom experience. We know cost is important and strive to provide you a great TP at a better value. We’d love to chat with you more about this – would you mind reaching out to us at 1-800-777-1410 9AM-6PM Mon-Fri? Thanks so much!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 118 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NO!

Customer avatar
XXXXXXX
Posted04.23.2014
Too thick. Plugs the toilet. Like trying to flush a washcloth. I wish I could give it zero stars. And I wish I could return the product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from CharminBy BrianCM05.19.2014
We're sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your recent puchase of Charmin. Our TP has been deisgned to be able to use less and it still get the job done! We’d love to chat with you more about this – would you mind reaching out to us at 1-800-777-1410 9AM-6PM Mon-Fri? Thanks so much!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 119 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hate new narrow size

Customer avatar
Over70
Posted04.23.2014
I hate the new, narrow size. Much as I have loved Charmin in the past, I will no longer buy it because of the narrow size. The new, narrow roll is sized only for children.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from CharminBy BrianCM05.19.2014
Thanks for the honest feedback. We're sorry to hear that you will be switching brands. We hope you'll find that while we have made some changes to the rolls, we also invested in the product to bring you a better bathroom experience. Thanks for taking the time to review us and for the support, we appreciate it!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 120 for Charmin® Ultra Soft
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

REDUCED SIZE????

Customer avatar
JAON
Posted04.21.2014
I cannot believe you all reduced the size of the the roll. Bad enough our candy bars get smaller but this is UNACCEPTABLE. I will no longer by Charmin.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... 67 next>>